The world of heroes-My Hero Academia

     (no major spoilers) When I was a child I had always dreamed of being a superhero, as many children do. While that doesn’t necessarily happen in the real world, Boku no Hero Academia brings that dream to life. MHA takes place in a world where super powers were no longer the works of fiction but part of daily life. At the time the show takes place about 80% of the current population have some form of super power (more commonly known as “Quirks”). 

     The anime follows a young Midoriya “Deku” Izuku, a boy born into the small percentage of people without a quirk, and his path towards becoming a hero. For someone without a quirk it would be nearly impossible to achieve, but with a chance encounter with #1 professional hero and his idol “All Might” he can rise to the challenge and attend the #1 heroics school in the world, U.A. Academy. 

     The story has an extremely large variety of interesting and expressive characters from Katsuki Bakugou, the hot-headed childhood friend and complete foil to Deku’s relatable and endearing character, to anti-gravity girl Ochako Uraraka, the sweet and caring classmate who can levitate whatever she touches. The students and teachers help to make up a colorful and incredibly exciting cast of characters.

    Studio Bones’ adaptation of My Hero Academia has solidified itself as my favorite anime of the year thus far and one of my all-time favorites. Currently I’m caught up with the manga and aching for more. Great story, great characters, and amazing action. I highly recommend this show and hope you find it as inspiring as I did. If you did, thank you for reading my short review. I wish you luck in all your endeavors. 

Plus Ultra!

Leave a Reply

